This Week I…

…Played ‘Excite Truck‘ whilst drinking Italian sparkling wine and talking about Asia.

…Re-read Stephen Fry’s debut novel, ‘The Liar’. I read it when it came out in 1991 and most of it went over my head. This time only some of it was lost on me. If you haven’t read it, read it.

…Contemplated a vegetarian diet even though Buddha said it’s ok to eat meat after having a delicious lunch at Food For Thought in Covent Garden. Then read Fraser’s Observer column over a meat pie.

…Paid an electricity bill so high that I initially thought the amount of money demanded was my customer reference number.

…Played along to Luisito Quintero’s incredible album, Percussion Madness with varying degrees of proficiency.

…Learnt some more about Hindustani music and persuaded Saj to get me a left-handed Sitar on his next trip to Kashmir.

…Developed a taste for Timothy Taylor beers. English ale might traditionally be enjoyed by elbow-patch wearing bearded folk music fans, but I’m telling ya – this is for real. This time I mean it. It’s Madonna’s favourite beer, apparently, but don’t let that put you off.

4 Responses to This Week I…

  1. Mckinley says:

    Hey, did you have the bannofie pie-type bin-ness at Food for Thought? It awesome. They just scoop and slop it onto a plate or cram it into a take away container should you want to enjoy it later. I love that place too, however, the mark-up on pre-made vegetable dishes is a bit outrageous.

  2. recoder says:

    No, I shared an apple-crumble-with-strawberries thing which was a bit of all right.

    The ambitious prices are probably because everything’s fair trade organic etc etc.

  3. Pete says:

    What is this ‘food for thought’? Sounds like my kind of shindig…

  4. Amardeep says:

    Rich i second the recommendation for the banana dessert. It rules!!!! And i hate desserts.

Leave a Reply

