Fitba

I’ve never been keen on football, but when I consider the fact that more than a billion people watched the last two World Cup finals, I have to acnowledge that it’s probably me that’s missing out.

Football brings people together like nothing else. I wonder how many times I could have avoided being ripped off by plumbers and mechanics if I’d had the knowledge required to initiate a couple of minutes of friendly banter about a matter of some debate amongst football fans.

I never watched football because

a) My Dad didn’t. People tend to inherit their fan-dom along with their eye colour.

b) Supporting the wrong team at my school could be dangerous. The best you could hope for when walking past some Villa fans wearing a Birmingham City scarf would be some prolonged knuckle-heading accompanied by some wild speculation about your physical relationship with your mother.

Still, like my friend who can force himself to like bands that have no instant appeal, I watched the Arsenal v Chelsea match yesterday determined to understand what all the fuss is about. Success! One nil, to the Arsenal. Holla Holla Holla.

4 Responses to Fitba

  1. Pete says:

    It’s exciting, isn’t it!

    As you well pointed out, the excess baggage that comes with an interest in football (along with a obsession with Weather Report) kept me away from sustaining a serious interest whilst at school, whixch is a shame, cause it’s actually jolly exciting.

  2. mieke says:

    i think our friendship is nearing it’s expiry date… it’s men, kicking a ball around in a field.

  3. Nas says:

    in replay to mieke, thats what i keep saying. kicking a ball around a field and getting paid a mint to do so.

    he even yelled at the screen sunday!!!

  4. mieke says:

    yelled at the screen? you wannabe!

Leave a Reply

