But Lo! What is This?

Turns out I’m not the only weirdo out there who’s obsessed with anthropomorphism – one of my symptom of mental distress is currently featured on Faces in Places.

I saw Sweeney Todd last night. The Johnny Depp / Tim Burton combo can’t really fail, although I was worried when I found out it’s a musical. Although they DO break into song at every opportunity, it’s the melodic-speaky kind of musical rather than a full-blown FOOD, GLORIOUS FOOD affair. Like, for example, when a character stumbles upon an object of minor interest it seems to inspire a spontaneous melodic narration –

But Lo! What is this?
A trinket in my hand
I’ve never seen a trinket like it
Ever in the land

That kind of thing.

It’s also gruesome & gory, and even if you think the whole thing’s rubbish, you can pretend it’s Jack Sparrow (same accent) having a bad dream.

I’d also add that Sacha Baron Cohen adds a wonderful comedic touch as the Italian barber Pirelli which is worth the price of a ticket alone.

One Response to But Lo! What is This?

  1. McKinley says:

    Hey! I meant to tell you I found a face on one of the columns by my house. Subsequently I also found a vagina. I’ll get photographic evidence. Just you wait.

Leave a Reply

