Know What I’m Saying?

In the 51 seconds of this video, ClevaClay uses the phrase know what I’m saying a staggering TEN times whilst talking about his purchase of Logic Studio for his MacBook. He literally says know what I’m saying every five seconds. It’s a form of tourettes. Every time he says know what I’m saying, start counting until he says it again. It’s incredible. Sometimes he condenses it to noasame but it still counts.

I’m not mocking. Honestly. I’m just fascinated by such a lack of self-awareness. I went through a phase a few years ago of saying the word ‘devastating’ in more or less every sentence that passed my lips. The lengths I would go to misuse the word would be endless. I would devastate people for a cigarette lighter; I would declare myself devastated when under the influence of alcohol, and I would look forward to devastating a pillow when especially tired. It’s a verbal tic, and it’s annoying. It spreads like a virus, too (I was not the only person in my circle of acquaintances to be devastated by everything) which is why so many people seek to verify that you know what they’re saying with such pathological frequency.

The irony with this video, of course, is that I DON’T know what he’s saying, because all I can focus on is him saying know what I’m saying, rather than the essence of what he is actually saying.

2 Responses to Know What I’m Saying?

  1. Pete says:

    I quite like ‘know what I’m saying?’.

    Unlike ‘Devastated’ it actually hase a virtually universally applicable function.

    Good thinking!

  2. mieke says:

    Why are you making me watch a video about Logic?

Leave a Reply

