Tai Chi Chicken

I was planning to avoid Kung Fu Panda on the following grounds.

  1. Animated movies are increasingly generic. It wouldn’t surprise me if projects in development included titles such as Tai Chi Chicken, Kayak Yak or Pentathlon Penguin.
  2. The trailer I’ve seen for Kung Fu Panda features our hero inadvertently destroying something and saying ‘oops’ in a self-conscious and conciliatory manner. C’mon! Why not go the whole way and have him sit on a chair and have the chair make a fart noise?
  3. The protagonist isn’t even as cute as an actual Panda. In fact, he isn’t cute at all. I can’t imagine rooting for this guy – in fact I hope he gets his ass judo-chopped all the way back to the Wolong Reserve.

Then I found out David Cross provides one of the voices and changed my mind about not watching it, because I’m shallow and I love David Cross.

I am reliably informed that in Thailand, you can buy Panda Cigarettes. If I make it there I’m going to smoke myself into a toxic cloud of cute.

6 Responses to Tai Chi Chicken

  1. mieke says:

    so how come you never went to see “alvin and the chipmunks” huh? HUH?!

  2. Richard says:

    How do you know I didn’t? (o_O)

  3. mieke says:

    you would’ve admitted it when drunk.

  4. Nas says:

    so before or after hancock??

    sheesh you never want to see these lame films with me!

  5. Amardeep says:

    I went to see Kung Fu Panda and quite enjoyed it. It unashamedly played to the kids which is great as it’s a kids movie. But i found the slapstick to be quite funny and the fight sequences are pretty impressive. All in all 6/10.

  6. Richard says:

    If you liked it Amardeep, then I will not hesitate to further line the pockets of those Hollywood taste-makers at the earliest opportunity. Cynicism be damned.

Leave a Reply

