Lights Out For Lehman

Sometimes people are surprised when they find out I don’t have a degree. I have never been academically inclined, although I did complete one year of an economics degree before I came to my senses. ‘Wait a minute’, I thought to myself during one particularly boring lecture, ‘This is all bollocks. I’m outta here.’

The current ‘credit crunch’ nausea is a fine illustration of why I couldn’t take any more. Lehman Brothers have declared themselves bankrupt after making losses of $6bn, but they paid out staff bonuses totalling $8bn in 2006.

The bankrupcy of Lehman Brothers means there’s a fair amount of office space available in Canary Wharf. Looks like someone must have actually said, ‘Would the last one out please turn off the lights.’ It’s pretty dark in there.

3 Responses to Lights Out For Lehman

  1. Nas says:

    you dont have a degree???
    how did we last 10 years?

  2. recoder says:

    Cuz I got a night-class diploma in hot-blooded hybrid kid management.

  3. Nas says:

    I’m taking that as a sorta compliment…

Leave a Reply

