Just Dandy

It’s going to be a little quiet around here for a few weeks while I start a new job and look for a flat. I’ll be a Website Manager in Farringdon, and when I’m not doing that, I’ll be looking for a 2-bedroom flat in West Hampstead for around £250 £300 a week. Bear with me. I’ll be back with lucid asininity soon. Maybe you should subscribe to the RSS feed.

I’ve barely been near the internet for two weeks. Since I accepted a job offer I’ve been busy as hell. I have, as I’d hoped, started to value my time again. I’ve been back from Asia for nearly three months. I cannot believe how little I’ve accomplished in that time. I learnt to sail. I watched major sporting events. I applied for about fifty jobs. That’s it.

I’ve been in stasis, with no money to buy anything or go anywhere, and nothing on my to-do list beyond ‘get a good job’. I should have filled my time with creative projects, but when you have enough time to do anything you want, I find you want to do nothing.

Well, I bought some grown-up clothes. Ain’t I just dandy?

I’m sure I’ll make a good impression, which is worrying. I’ll have to manage my new employer’s expectations in a downwards direction somehow.


I’ve been playing around with SoundCloud. It sells itself as the audio version of Flickr. I don’t know about that, but I like their media player. I’ve added some permanent sample tracks to the music page.

Speaking of music, Guy and I have sketched out a rough plan for recording a follow-up to Hidden In Plain View, the online album that was downloaded in sufficient numbers to make us about as well-known as the recipe for Coca-Cola.

I’m hoping the next one will:

a) sound cohesive
b) sound amazing
c) make us at least as well-known as the preparation method for Fugu.
d) justify the purchase of a 24-inch iMac, a Neumann U87 and a VW Polo.


Finally: I hesitate to bring this subject up for two reasons. One, I find it hard to describe. Two, if you don’t know what I’m talking about, you might think I’m more nuts than I actually am. Nevertheless, I want to get to the bottom of it, and it’s not easy to search the internet for. Here goes:

If I talk to someone face-to-face and maintain eye-contact for an extended period, my perception of perspective goes awry: it’s as if everything goes miniature. The head of the person I’m talking to seems to shrink to Lego-size. This lasts until I glance rapidly between things in the middle-distance and things right in front of me.

Does anyone reading this
a) know what the hell I’m talking about?
b) have any experience of it?
c) know what causes it?

5 Responses to Just Dandy

  1. Ray says:

    Are you wearing contract lenses at the time?

  2. Charlotte says:

    You know Luke’s old flat? It’s still empty, so I bet you could haggle for a bargain on that place… Also, whatever any estate agents tell you just bring them down on price, they’ll try and bullshit you but current state is an awesome time to be a tenant looking to rent! Just put in the most offensive offer you can think of and wait 😛 Also – suit looks cool! you look a bit like Jude Law in that pic lol

  3. mar says:

    Hmmm! I’m certain it means those persons bore the ass off you, or, you are over the limit! Dress code yummy, granny wd really approve. Sorry to frighten you love your blog and haven’t got the patience to read a book.M

  4. Amardeep says:

    Hey Rich,

    I have that visual experience loads of times. It weird innit.

  5. mieke says:

    c) being hooman.

Leave a Reply

